top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDr. Ethel Chiles

What Are You Worth to Yourself?


Worth: You thought I was worth saving, so you came and changed my life. You thought I was worth keeping – so you cleaned me up inside. You thought I was to die for–so you sacrificed your life, so I can be free, so I be whole, so I can tell everyone I know.

Words by Anthony Brown and Group Therapy

This how much you are worth to God.

When I wrote the book, You Marry What You Date, I wasn’t implying that I was a marriage expert and I am far from it. In fact, the subtitle is ‘Understanding Your Value to God’. In a recent conversation with some ladies, I refocused on the subtitle, especially the word ‘value’. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could walk on a car lot, clothing store, or restaurant and tell them how much we think their goods or services are worth? We could care less if they made money, we just want the product for as little as we have to pay for it. Unfortunately, it doesn’t work that way. The owners of those stores have already determined the value or worth of those products and if we choose to walk away with their goods or services, we have to agree with the value or worth they established or go to another store.

I am not asking you what are you worth to others? I am asking what are you worth to yourself? Does everyone else around you understand the value you see in yourself? Others will treat you the way they see you treat yourself. Don’t let others believe that your worth or value can be located on the clearance rack. When you understand how valuable you are to God, you will become more valuable to yourself. I am not talking about finding a perfect person because people do not come preordered. Relationships require work regardless of how fine that person is or how much they have or do not have. When all the material things are set aside, how does that person treat you? We all want the most we can get for the least amount of work. Don’t present yourself cheap to anyone and we all get to decide exactly what that means because that means different things to different people.

Don’t settle for less than what you are worth just to have someone in your life – you will regret it. Your real value - don’t think less of yourself than God does. Understand Your Value to God and how He expects you to be treated. If someone wants to be in your life and offers you a value that is different than what you think about yourself and what God thinks about you, don’t allow them to devalue your worth to fit their needs, let them try another store.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page